Posted by: dacalu | 8 September 2009

Words of Wisdom

I’ve been sitting on the U of A mall with a sign that says “Spiritual Advice 25 cents.” (Thank you, Peanuts and 9 Chickweed Lane.) I was surprised when several people walked up, gave me a quarter and said, “So, what’s the advice?” I was expecting something a little more interactive, but I suppose this is the age of instant gratification and soundbites, so I thought I’d take a stab at it. I asked my friends on facebook to come up with a spiritual advice slogan, generally (if not universally) appropriate. Their answers are listed below. (PS. I was really amazed at how good a theological discussion we managed to have via facebook status.)

My favorites
“People are more important than ideas.” -Lucas Mix
“God loves everyone. No matter what. Period.” -Lucinda Smock
“Life is not a dress rehearsal” -Kathleen O’Leary
“Be the change you wish to see.” -Sonya Hubbard (quoting Gandhi)

Mystical
“Be mindful.” -Sue Agnew
“Join the Dance.” -Ann Fontaine
“Just breathe.” -Veronica Ritson
“Life’s a spiral, not a circle.” -Daniella Scalice

Bible
“Take neither purse nor shoes…” -Kirstin Paisley
“Take no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought
for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.” -Daniel Conklin
“Love one another, as I have loved you.” -Tamara Kincaid
“Do (be) unto others as you would have others do (be) unto you.” -Jim Strader

simple
“Don’t be evil.” -Ash Morgan
“Be nice.” -David Dailey (quoting The Second Greatest Story Ever Told)
“Pay attention.” -Katherine Gray
“What do you want?” -Devorah Schoenfeld (surprisingly not, “Who are you?”)
“Keep it simple.” -Jeanette Olson

“It’s not what you did, but what you could have done
if you allowed the Lord to work His will in your life.” -Elsie Dennis (quoting A.W. Tozer)
“I don’t have all the answers, but I’d like to help you look for them.” -Andee Zetterbaum
“Look inside yourself and sign up for hapkido classes…” -Galina Lemke
“Follow your heart, but use your head.” -Anna-Marie Broback Devine
“Jesus loves you; this I know.” -Barbara Boe
“Remember always, you are God’s beloved” -John Miller

And, those I that I can’t endorse, but do provoke thought…
“We’re all f*’d up, we all question; but that’s okay; when we cry, God does too.” -Dustin Cross
“It’s very likely there is no god. Be weary of those claiming they are certain there is one (or more).” -Kevin Grealish

Remembering always
“God is with you.”

And he is.

Leave a Reply

Categories

